Anti-Bullying Info

Harassment, Intimidation, or Bullying (HIB)

"Harassment, intimidation or bullying" means any gesture, any written, verbal or physical act, or any electronic communication, whether it be a single incident or a series of incidents,that is reasonably perceived as being motivated either by any actual or perceived characteristic, such as race, color, religion, ancestry, national origin, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity and expression, or a mental, physical or sensory [handicap]disability, or by any other distinguishing characteristic, that takes place on school property, at any school-sponsored function [or],on a school bus, or off school grounds as provided for in section 16 of P.L.2010, CHAPTER 122 , that substantially disrupts or interferes with the orderly operation of the school or the rights of other students and that:

a) a reasonable person should know, under the circumstances, will have the effect of physically or emotionally harming a student or damaging the student's property, or placing a student in reasonable fear of physical or emotional harm to his person or damage to his property; [or]

b) has the effect of insulting or demeaning any student or group of students [in such a way as to cause substantial disruption in, or substantial interference with, the orderly operation of the school]; or

c) creates a hostile educational environment for the student by interfering with a student’s education or by severely or pervasively causing physical or emotional harm to the student.

 

North Brunswick Board of Education Policy 5512.01 

NJDOE HIB Guidance for Schools  

School Self Assessment and Anti-Bullying Bill of Rights NBTSchools 2014-2015

Prevention Programs and Initiatives:

  • PBSIS (Middle School and High School)
  • Character Education (PreK-12)
  • "Week of Respect" Activities
  • "Violence Prevention Week" Activities
  • Counseling Programs
  • Staff Professional Development
  • School Safety Team

 

District Anti-Bullying Coordinator

John Petela

jpetela@nbtschools.org

732-289-3029


John Adams Elementary School

Ann Kingsley

akingsley@nbtschools.org

732-289-3100

Arthur M. Judd Elementary School

Lauren Finnegan

lfinnegan@nbtschools.org

732-289-3200

Livingston Park Elementary School

Denise Wright

dwright@nbtschools.org

732-289-3300

Parsons Elementary School

Cari Lopez

clopez@nbtschools.org

732-289-3400

Linwood Middle School

Rick Feltre

rfeltre@nbtschools.org

732-289-3600

North Brunswick Township High School

Gina Marie Tischio

gtischio@nbtschools.org

732-289-3700 x73004