ANTI-BULLYING INFO

Harassment, Intimidation, or Bullying (HIB)

"Harassment, intimidation or bullying" means any gesture, any written, verbal or physical act, or any electronic communication, whether it be a single incident or a series of incidents,that is reasonably perceived as being motivated either by any actual or perceived characteristic, such as race, color, religion, ancestry, national origin, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity and expression, or a mental, physical or sensory [handicap]disability, or by any other distinguishing characteristic, that takes place on school property, at any school-sponsored function [or],on a school bus, or off school grounds as provided for in section 16 of P.L.2010, CHAPTER 122 , that substantially disrupts or interferes with the orderly operation of the school or the rights of other students and that:

a) a reasonable person should know, under the circumstances, will have the effect of physically or emotionally harming a student or damaging the student's property, or placing a student in reasonable fear of physical or emotional harm to his person or damage to his property; [or]

b) has the effect of insulting or demeaning any student or group of students [in such a way as to cause substantial disruption in, or substantial interference with, the orderly operation of the school]; or

c) creates a hostile educational environment for the student by interfering with a student’s education or by severely or pervasively causing physical or emotional harm to the student.

North Brunswick Board of Education Policy 5512

NJDOE HIB Guidance for Schools

Prevention Programs and Initiatives:

  • PBSIS (Middle School and High School)

  • Character Education (PreK-12)

  • "Week of Respect" Activities

  • "Violence Prevention Week" Activities

  • Counseling Programs

  • Staff Professional Development

  • School Safety Team

District Anti-Bullying Coordinator

Amy Kita

akita@nbtschools.org

732-289-3029

John Adams Elementary School

Carlie Cummings

ccummings@nbtschools.org

732-289-3100

Arthur M. Judd Elementary School

Dominy Alderman

dalderman@nbtschools.org

732-289-3200

Livingston Park Elementary School

Diane Mory

dmory@nbtschools.org

732-289-3300

Parsons Elementary School

Beth Yuhas

byuhas@nbtschools.org

732-289-3400

Linwood School

Alexis Jacqueney

ajacqueney@nbtschools.org

732-289-3600

Linwood School

Nicole Jacunski

njacunski@nbtschools.org

732-289-3600

North Brunswick Township Middle School

Jennifer Casazza

jcasazza@nbtschools.org

732-951-7000

North Brunswick Township Middle School

Christian Valentin-Gladden

cvalentingladden@nbtschools.org

732-951-7000

North Brunswick Township High School

Kate Bloemer Gr. 10, 12

kbloemer@nbtschools.org

732-289-3700 x73089

North Brunswick Township High School

Rebecca Petronko Gr. 9, 11

rpetronko@nbtschools.org

732-289-3700 x73098

RESOURCES AND REPORTS